Jury of Humanity Photo Awards 2000

Published date: 2000-05-20    Clicks: 4827

Mr. Shen Che (China)


Founder & President of China Folklore Photographic Association.

Creator and designer of the international photographic contest, Humanity Photo Award.

Advocator of World Folklore Photographic Organization.



Mr. Bryn Campbell (Britain)

Picture editor of ‘The Observer’, ‘The Telegraph Magazine’.

Editor of ‘Cameras’ magazine.

Mr. Campbell was the British judge for World Press Photo 1985, the International Center for Photography Annual Awards, New York, in 1989 and the Humanity Photo Award’98, Beijing in 1998.



Mr. Vincent Mentzel (the Netherlands)

Staff photographer of NRC Handelsblad in Rotterdam.

Member of the board of World Press Photo Foundation.

Member of the Advisory Board of the Eugene Smith Foundation in New York.

Jury member of Humanity Photo Award’98.



Mr. Humberto Da Silveira (Brazil)

Professional photographer with extensive experience and knowledge of the Middle East.

His major work includes:

Najd – a volume containing 148 photographs illustrating Saudi Arabia and the Middle East’s neolithic, classical and 19th century traditional architecture in the last years of its functional existence prior to modernization.

Bedu – the complementary sequel to Najd, is a proud record of the last true Bedouins, the heirs to a nomadic way of life.



Ms. Leona Isaak (Canada)

Director on the Boardand associateship member of the Canadian Association for Photographic Art.

Advisor for the Art Photo Club (Vancouver, Canada).

One of the judges for the CPA(Chinese Photographic Association of Hong Kong) 40th International Salon.



Ms. Jodi Bieber (South Africa)

Won four prizes from World Press Photo.

Won seven prizes from South African Fuji Press Awards.

Attended the Master Class of WPP in 1996.

Received a photographic grant from the National Arts Council of South Africa in 1998.



Mr. Michael Amendolia (Australia)

Director photographer of Network Photographers Sydney

Currently freelancing in Marie Claire, Time, The Australian and etc.

Images project on Australian diversity of cultureis part of the State Library of NSW collection.

Participated in judging the 1997 Australian Walkley Award.

World Press Photo Award 1999: 1st Prize Science and Technology Stories.



Mr. Yuan Yiping (China)

Former vice chairman and consultant of Chinese Photographic Association.

Vice director of Photographic Theory and Comment Committee of China.

In 1985, he was awarded by the International Federation of Photographic Art.



Mr. Xia Fang (China)

Photographer, writer and researcher on photography.

Mr. Xia published many paper and over a dozen books.

Mr. Xia is the vice Chairman of China Folklore Photographic Association, guest professor in Tianjin Institute of Arts and Crafts, advisor of Chinese Photographic Association.



Ms. Jin yan (Australia)

Secretary-General of Selecting Committee of Humanity Photo Award.

Online service